Global Experts Convene at National Earthquake Conference

LONG BEACH, Calif., May 4, 2016-- As TaiwanJapan, and Ecuador work to recover from recent deadly earthquakes, more than 160 different organizations and experts, ranging from academia, building code experts, earth scientists, engineers, federal and state government leaders, insurance industry representatives, and researchers, gather in Long Beach, CA from May 4 to May 6 at the 2016 National Earthquake Conference (NEC). The NEC occurs every four years and brings together leading experts to share the latest advances in earthquake resiliency.

FLASH Introduces #HurricaneStrong to Save Lives and Homes

ORLANDO, Fla., -- The nonprofit Federal Alliance for Safe Homes (FLASH)® today unveiled #HurricaneStronga new national hurricane resilience initiative to increase safety and reduce economic losses through collaboration with the most recognized public and private organizations in the disaster safety movement, including FEMA, and NOAA/National Weather Service. FLASH Leadership Partner and former National Hurricane Center Director Bill Read, joined FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate and National Hurricane Center Director Dr. Rick Knabb during the National Hurricane Conference in Orlando to introduce the effort with a presentation and short video.

Esteemed Texas Meteorologist Named 2016 National Weatherperson of the Year

The Federal Alliance for Safe Homes (FLASH)®  has named Alex Garcia, Chief Meteorologist for KABB - San Antonio 2016 National Weatherperson of the Year in honor of National Weatherperson's Day. Chosen for the award by the FLASH Board of Directors, Alex was selected for his contributions to the disaster safety movement and dedicated service to his community.

2016 National Weatherperson of the Year Nominations Now Open

TALLAHASSEE, Fla., Nov. 30, 2015 -- Today, the nonprofit Federal Alliance for Safe Homes (FLASH)® announced a call for nominations for the 2016 National Weatherperson of the Year Award, an annual honor recognizing an outstanding weatherperson for leadership in promoting disaster safety and resilience.

The 2016 award will be presented at the FLASH Annual Conference during a luncheon on Thursday, January 28 in advance of National Weatherperson's Day on February 5. Jim Cantore of The Weather Channel and former National Hurricane Center Director Max Mayfield won the award in 2014 and 2015, respectively.