Esteemed Texas Meteorologist Named 2016 National Weatherperson of the Year

The Federal Alliance for Safe Homes (FLASH)®  has named Alex Garcia, Chief Meteorologist for KABB - San Antonio 2016 National Weatherperson of the Year in honor of National Weatherperson's Day. Chosen for the award by the FLASH Board of Directors, Alex was selected for his contributions to the disaster safety movement and dedicated service to his community.

2016 National Weatherperson of the Year Nominations Now Open

TALLAHASSEE, Fla., Nov. 30, 2015 -- Today, the nonprofit Federal Alliance for Safe Homes (FLASH)® announced a call for nominations for the 2016 National Weatherperson of the Year Award, an annual honor recognizing an outstanding weatherperson for leadership in promoting disaster safety and resilience.

The 2016 award will be presented at the FLASH Annual Conference during a luncheon on Thursday, January 28 in advance of National Weatherperson's Day on February 5. Jim Cantore of The Weather Channel and former National Hurricane Center Director Max Mayfield won the award in 2014 and 2015, respectively.