Nonprofit FLASH seeking nominations for annual award now through December 18

PR Newswire


TALLAHASSEE, Fla., Nov. 30, 2015 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Today, the nonprofit Federal Alliance for Safe Homes (FLASH)® announced a call for nominations for the 2016 National Weatherperson of the Year Award, an annual honor recognizing an outstanding weatherperson for leadership in promoting disaster safety and resilience.

The 2016 award will be presented at the FLASH Annual Conference during a luncheon on Thursday, January 28 in advance of National Weatherperson's Day on February 5. Jim Cantore of The Weather Channel and former National Hurricane Center Director Max Mayfield won the award in 2014 and 2015, respectively.

FLASH created the award to coincide with the celebration of National Weatherperson's Day on February 5, the birthday of the pioneering weather observer John Jeffries. After a decade of research on the ground, Jefferies piloted a hot air balloon in 1774 to test weather conditions and advance the science of meteorology. His work paved the way for many aspects of meteorology today.

"The weatherpersons we honor through this award are true leaders with a proven commitment to protecting the public from severe weather," stated FLASH President and CEO Leslie Chapman-Henderson. "They serve a critical role in helping families prepare for natural disasters, often as unsung heroes. Thanks to their dedication, communities are safer and resilient too."


Qualified nominees must include either practicing or former meteorologists or weatherpersons. Nominators should highlight how the nominee has leveraged his/her expertise and role to help save lives and protect property through accurate disaster safety messaging, targeted programs, or other public outreach initiatives.

Nomination Details:

Nominations should be submitted electronically to Info@flash.org no later than Friday, December 18, 2015 at 8 p.m. EST. The award will be announced during the 2016 FLASH Annual Conference on January 27-29, 2016 in Orlando. The nominator and winner will be notified in advance to allow for planning and travel to the awards luncheon.

The nomination package should include:

  • Cover letter, signed by the nominator with all relevant contact information
  • Narrative statement(s) in support of the nomination, including examples and any metrics
  • A completed, signed nomination form
  • Letters of recommendation (welcome, but not required)

Selection Process:

The National Weatherperson of the Year Award Awards Committee will make preliminary selection of the winner, with final approval by the Federal Alliance for Safe Homes (FLASH) Board of Directors.

Visit www.flash.org/nationalweatherpersonsday for more information.


Federal Alliance for Safe Homes (FLASH), a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, is the country's leading consumer advocate for strengthening homes and safeguarding families from natural and manmade disasters. FLASH collaborates with more than 120 innovative and diverse partners that share its vision of making America a more disaster resilient nation including: BASF, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Florida Division of Emergency Management, The Home Depot®, International Code Council, Kohler® Generators, National Weather Service, Portland Cement Association, Simpson Strong-Tie®, State Farm Insurance Companies, and USAA®. In 2008, FLASH® and Disney opened the interactive weather experience StormStruck: A Tale of Two Homes® in Lake Buena Vista, FL. Learn more about FLASH and gain access to its free consumer resources by visiting www.flash.org or calling (877) 221- SAFE (7233). Also, get timely safety tips to ensure that you and your family are protected from natural and manmade disasters by subscribing to the FLASH blog – Protect Your Home in a FLASH, and following the FLASH Twitter and Facebook accounts.


To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/2016-national-weatherperson-of-the-year-nominations-now-open-300185187.html

SOURCE Federal Alliance for Safe Homes (FLASH)

<< Back